Roleplaying as a Forsaken

Brom

Roleplaying as a Forsaken

Post by Brom » Thu May 18, 2023 2:03 am

It's been a very long time since i played wow and im really rusty on the lore subject. I want to make a backstory for my forsaken character, but i have no idea how they feel or what they know or remember when they awaken.
I remember they are the citzens of Lordareon that died from the plague if im not mistaken.
Do they remember their "past life"?
Did they came back as servants of the Lich King and are now being freed by Sylvanas or they died then and are coming back just now already freed by her?

Thanks

Flamingkey

Re: Roleplaying as a Forsaken

Post by Flamingkey » Thu May 18, 2023 7:06 am

Hello and good morning Brom. As a shameless, die-hard forsaken fan, I welcome your question and your RP choice, which is excellent!

Also disclaimer: I am not a lore expert, I'm a die-hard Forsaken fan, my knowledge comes from playing WoW and reading any online source I can get my grubby little hands on. So no guarantee for 100% lore compliance.

Let me jump right in: yes, most Forsaken are former citizens of the fallen kingdom Lordaeron. Many of them were infected with the (magical) Plague of Undead by consuming the cursed grain from Andorhal. But that is not necessarily how every character became undead. In fact, there are three ways to become undead:
1) Eating the grain cursed with the Plague of Undeath - these people would have appeared to be ill with a high fever and a parched throat and be in pain until they died; later it turned out that early stages of this magical illness could be healed with the magic of the Holy Light.