Shifting Marksmanship Hunter towards a Petless Option

Chronoslicer

Shifting Marksmanship Hunter towards a Petless Option

Post by Chronoslicer » Sun Apr 23, 2023 7:19 pm

Though i do love the added gameplay options and pet management as a whole, i feel as though there should be an option for a hunter to go petless, either through a talent or passive buff.

There are plenty of examples of marksmen, rangers, and the like that boast superior ranged capabilities without having the use of a pet in warcraft history/lore, and i feel this would be a nice addition to the game if implemented correctly

I am not a designer, but i think a talent that gives you benefits from not having a pet summoned, like a flat increase to damage to even out the loss of pet damage, or a unique utility that would help them to stand out a bit would be nice.

There would have to be drawback or some type of mechanic difference to keep it a little interesting and to keep it from being op, but i think it would add some spice to the game, in addition to being lore friendly.

What are your thoughts? Concerns?

Gantulga

Re: Shifting Marksmanship Hunter towards a Petless Option

Post by Gantulga » Sun Apr 23, 2023 7:36 pm

No. Hunters are already mindless to play here and that'd make it even worse.

Cervantes

Post by Cervantes » Sun Apr 23, 2023 7:43 pm

I've always liked this idea, making the hunter more like an archer or ranger?

Maybe not having a pet increase your base stats, or you open up some different skills to help fill the void of not having a pet.
Seymour Siegfried Jones
Holy Knight

Cervantes

Post by Cervantes » Sun Apr 23, 2023 7:46 pm

I also like a new spell that I thought of that you get from Beast Mastery tree at the bottom called "Calling the Wild"
Your pets, including the ones in the stables, appear at your side in battle for 30 secs
1 hour cooldown....
Seymour Siegfried Jones
Holy Knight

Heine

Post by Heine » Sun Apr 23, 2023 7:48 pm