macOS Big Sur (M1 Chip)

Kephinio

macOS Big Sur (M1 Chip)

Post by Kephinio » Mon May 10, 2021 7:28 am

Hello Turtles!

I've been playing for about a month on this server with my Windows laptop but have switched to a macOS machine a few days ago. Since I would like to transfer my usage to this new computer, I'd like to also be able to play on the M1 Mac mini. I've already tried Wine, Playonmac and Winebottler. Maybe I've done something wrong and I'd like to know of you could help me out with a link to a video or site for a complete tutorial. This is my first time using a Mac. I'll keep playing on my Windows laptop while I lack a solution.

See you on the server and thanks in advance! smiling_turtle_head

Mcnair

Re: macOS Big Sur (M1 Chip)

Post by Mcnair » Mon May 10, 2021 11:32 am

I'm not an expert in running games on a mac, but we had recently a lot of problems at work with programs not starting with the M1 chip.
You could try to run Wine/Wineskin with the Rosetta translator engine, that helped in many cases for us. (Tick the 'Open using Rosetta' check box in info)

Merikkinon

Post by Merikkinon » Mon May 10, 2021 4:38 pm

for Wine Bottler. That's what I am using on my Macbook Pro2

Kephinio

Post by Kephinio » Tue May 11, 2021 6:44 am

Thanks so much! I heard about Rosetta and all this Wine and Winebottler and stuff is completely new to me. Will try it out and give feedback. satisfied_turtle_head

Merikkinon

Post by Merikkinon » Wed May 12, 2021 1:26 am

FYI, I do have it working on mine, so know it can be done.

Kephinio

Post by Kephinio » Wed May 12, 2021 10:59 am