[Request] Replacing/swapping textures on pre-exsisting models.

Post Reply
Silcrow
Posts: 5

[Request] Replacing/swapping textures on pre-exsisting models.

Post by Silcrow » Tue May 03, 2022 12:46 am

So I've made a few edits to some textures from the game. But I cannot find a way to implement these modified textures. Every tutorial I can find is either about model editing or scripting. Neither of which I bet applies to a texture swap.

Is there a site I should check out for this topic? Or is there someone on here that can give me a decent tutorial or a simple guide on how to do this?

User avatar
Allwynd01
Posts: 167

Re: [Request] Replacing/swapping textures on pre-exsisting models.

Post by Allwynd01 » Tue May 03, 2022 9:16 am

Did you extract .MPQ files when you modified textures? You have to extract .MPQ files and then repackage them again. But it's a stupid endeavor and not worth the effort or time. I've done it and will never waste my time again.

Silcrow
Posts: 5

Re: [Request] Replacing/swapping textures on pre-exsisting models.

Post by Silcrow » Wed May 04, 2022 5:27 am

Did you extract .MPQ files when you modified textures? You have to extract .MPQ files and then repackage them again.
I extracted the .BLP's and converted them to .PNG. Don't know about repackaging .MPQ's.

User avatar
Redmagejoe
Posts: 83

Re: [Request] Replacing/swapping textures on pre-exsisting models.

Post by Redmagejoe » Wed May 04, 2022 5:22 pm

I can help with the repackaging process. We may be able to help each other out, depending on your know-how with BLPs.

Once you've converted a BLP into a PNG for editing, you need to convert it back into a BLP. The new BLP MUST have the same Signature, Compression (usually uncompressed), Format, Alpha channel, Header size, and mipmap count, AS WELL as having the same offeset and size in the mipmap table listed below it (assuming you're using BLP Lab).

It's the main reason I haven't been able to get new assets into the Turtle HD mod, is finicky BLP information. Once you've done all of that, you want to make a new MPQ (don't manipulate base MPQs, as that's just bad practice and makes version control harder) with the exact same directory structure where your new BLPs will go. Name the new MPQ something alphabetically after the latest base patches. Turtle uses patch-T, patch-U, and patch-V, so for my Turtle HD patches, I use patch-W, patch-X, and patch-Y.

Silcrow
Posts: 5

Re: [Request] Replacing/swapping textures on pre-exsisting models.

Post by Silcrow » Wed May 11, 2022 2:30 am

Redmagejoe wrote:
Wed May 04, 2022 5:22 pm
I can help with the repackaging process. We may be able to help each other out, depending on your know-how with BLPs.
Try these, they're not my edits but they don't look used.
https://mega.nz/file/kIxlxbbL#Zy7WLOJNT ... msWPmxvt0I

User avatar
Redmagejoe
Posts: 83

Re: [Request] Replacing/swapping textures on pre-exsisting models.

Post by Redmagejoe » Wed May 11, 2022 6:50 am

I would need to know what files you're looking to replace with these, and name them and place them in a directory structure accordingly.

Silcrow
Posts: 5

Re: [Request] Replacing/swapping textures on pre-exsisting models.

Post by Silcrow » Sat May 14, 2022 4:12 am

Redmagejoe wrote:
Wed May 11, 2022 6:50 am
I would need to know what files you're looking to replace with these, and name them and place them in a directory structure accordingly.
You're looking to replace the following:

item/objectcomponents/head/helm_plate_raidwarrior_b_01.blp
item/objectcomponents/shoulder/shoulder_plate_raidwarrior_b_01.blp
item/texturecomponents/armlowertexture/plate_raidwarrior_b_01_bracer_al_u.blp
item/texturecomponents/armlowertexture/plate_raidwarrior_b_01_glove_al_u.blp
item/texturecomponents/armuppertexture/plate_raidwarrior_b_01_sleeve_au_u.blp
item/texturecomponents/foottexture/plate_raidwarrior_b_01_boot_fo_u.blp
item/texturecomponents/handtexture/plate_raidwarrior_b_01_glove_ha.blp
item/texturecomponents/leglowertexture/plate_raidwarrior_b_01_boot_ll_u.blp
item/texturecomponents/leglowertexture/plate_raidwarrior_b_01_pant_ll_u.blp
item/texturecomponents/leguppertexture/plate_raidwarrior_b_01_belt_lu_u.blp
item/texturecomponents/leguppertexture/plate_raidwarrior_b_01_pant_lu_u.blp
item/texturecomponents/torsolowertexture/plate_raidwarrior_b_01_chest_lu_u.blp
item/texturecomponents/torsouppertexture/plate_raidwarrior_b_01_chest_lu_u.blp

There are extra upper torso's specific to each gender. But the textures to be replaced don't have those specifics. If everything goes right, the tier 2 warrior set Wrath should look different.

User avatar
Redmagejoe
Posts: 83

Re: [Request] Replacing/swapping textures on pre-exsisting models.

Post by Redmagejoe » Sat May 14, 2022 6:21 am

I will test these when I get a chance and can find a Warrior with Tier 2 I can use as my runway model. Though I am noticing a problem that makes it difficult for me to convert the filenames.
Silcrow wrote:
Sat May 14, 2022 4:12 am
item/texturecomponents/foottexture/plate_raidwarrior_b_01_boot_fo_u.blp
item/texturecomponents/leguppertexture/plate_raidwarrior_b_01_belt_lu_u.blp
I do not have files that seem to correlate to these in the package you provided. I moved 11 of the 13 files (which only needed to have "outlandpurple" removed from their filenames) into the respective folders for my test MPQ and discarded the other 2 which were the gender variants. However, I am still missing the two listed above. If you could provide the appropriate textures, then I could begin to test this.

Silcrow
Posts: 5

Re: [Request] Replacing/swapping textures on pre-exsisting models.

Post by Silcrow » Mon May 16, 2022 2:32 am

Redmagejoe wrote:
Sat May 14, 2022 6:21 am
Silcrow wrote:
Sat May 14, 2022 4:12 am
item/texturecomponents/foottexture/plate_raidwarrior_b_01_boot_fo_u.blp
item/texturecomponents/leguppertexture/plate_raidwarrior_b_01_belt_lu_u.blp
I do not have files that seem to correlate to these in the package you provided. I moved 11 of the 13 files (which only needed to have "outlandpurple" removed from their filenames) into the respective folders for my test MPQ and discarded the other 2 which were the gender variants. However, I am still missing the two listed above. If you could provide the appropriate textures, then I could begin to test this.
This should include them. https://mega.nz/file/AcYEmZpR#ejf-ydH7U ... LQUsvrkogg

User avatar
Redmagejoe
Posts: 83

Re: [Request] Replacing/swapping textures on pre-exsisting models.

Post by Redmagejoe » Mon May 16, 2022 4:19 pm

I've made the patch, and now it's just a matter of finding a T2-geared Warrior to test it out on. It's pretty simple to make this on your own, however. Simply get Ladik's MPQ Editor, open it up, create New MPQ, name it something like patch-Z.MPQ (for testing), and set the size to however many files you want to put in it.

Then just put the directory structure in (in this case Item\ObjectComponents\ and Item\TextureComponents\) with all the files in the proper places, and place the MPQ in your WoW's Data folder.

Post Reply