World of Warcraft 1.15.0

Roxanneflowers
Posts: 222

Re: World of Warcraft 1.15.0

Post by Roxanneflowers » Fri Jan 08, 2021 11:07 pm

Greneugs wrote:
Fri Jan 08, 2021 3:21 pm
then download the Turtle Wow Client. Put that whole folder in your applications folder. Go into the folder and right click the turtlewow.exe (the windows launcher for WoW). select open with. (Wine stable). it will take a few minutes to load and install but it really does work flawlessly
Will attempt as time permits.

Roxanneflowers
Posts: 222

Re: World of Warcraft 1.15.0

Post by Roxanneflowers » Sat Jan 09, 2021 2:54 pm

Greneugs wrote:
Fri Jan 08, 2021 3:21 pm
Currently the only option to run the 1.15.0 client is through wine. I used to run it exactly how you are talking about. But it has something to do with the version matching etc.

It honestly runs really well on Wine.

download the latest version of wine and install
https://dl.winehq.org/wine-builds/macosx/download.html

then download the Turtle Wow Client. Put that whole folder in your applications folder. Go into the folder and right click the turtlewow.exe (the windows launcher for WoW). select open with. (Wine stable). it will take a few minutes to load and install but it really does work flawlessly
Tried it.

It doesn't.
Work.
At all.
dead_turtle_head

Roxanneflowers
Posts: 222

Re: World of Warcraft 1.15.0

Post by Roxanneflowers » Sat Jan 09, 2021 5:31 pm

And now I've tried PlayonMac.

It doesn't work.
dead_turtle_head

Well ... that's it.
Turtle WoW is dead for me.

Steyr
Posts: 50

Re: World of Warcraft 1.15.0

Post by Steyr » Sat Jan 09, 2021 5:39 pm

Perhaps some Mac user could provide a step-by-step guide on how they launched the 1.15?

User avatar
Torta
Posts: 712

Re: World of Warcraft 1.15.0

Post by Torta » Sat Jan 09, 2021 5:54 pm

Roxanneflowers wrote:
Sat Jan 09, 2021 5:31 pm
And now I've tried PlayonMac.

It doesn't work.
dead_turtle_head

Well ... that's it.
Turtle WoW is dead for me.
I'm sorry but none of staff are actually Mac users, we simply do not know how to work with it, you gonna join Discord and request help from other community members, I know many are playing without problems right now.

User avatar
Torta
Posts: 712

Re: World of Warcraft 1.15.0

Post by Torta » Sun Jan 10, 2021 12:18 pm

Up.

Ninja
Posts: 2

Re: World of Warcraft 1.15.0

Post by Ninja » Sun Jan 10, 2021 3:49 pm

My primary machine is a MacBook Pro. I’m on recent version of macOS that won’t run 32 bit apps, and couldn’t get anything to run TurtleWow. Tried in a virtual machine (VMWare Fusion) but framerate was in the 10’s. So I bought an old box on eBay for < 150 and it plays at 60 fps. I know not an ideal solution, but I’ll use this box for other stuff too. You may even be able to spend less... any old i3/5 and a gt 5x video card should do it. Just sharing ideas.

Roxanneflowers
Posts: 222

Re: World of Warcraft 1.15.0

Post by Roxanneflowers » Sun Jan 10, 2021 4:25 pm

Torta wrote:
Sun Jan 10, 2021 12:18 pm
Up.
I have no idea what you were even intending to convey with that comment.
Context please.

Ninja
Posts: 2

Re: World of Warcraft 1.15.0

Post by Ninja » Sun Jan 10, 2021 7:45 pm

...

Pfwg
Posts: 86

Re: World of Warcraft 1.15.0

Post by Pfwg » Tue Jan 12, 2021 7:34 am

Roxanneflowers wrote:
Sun Jan 10, 2021 4:25 pm
Torta wrote:
Sun Jan 10, 2021 12:18 pm
Up.
I have no idea what you were even intending to convey with that comment.
Context please.
It's an alternative to 'bump'.

Roxanneflowers
Posts: 222

Re: World of Warcraft 1.15.0

Post by Roxanneflowers » Tue Jan 12, 2021 1:20 pm

Well, at this point we have mac users and windows users who are having problems with the patch not working. At this point I suspect that the root cause of the problem is the 32-bit vs 64-bit divide. Although "modern" operating systems all moved to 64-bit codebases years ago, World of Warcraft was originally encoded for 32-bit operating systems so a lot of the game clients that people had been using were running on 32-bit foundations (and for some configurations of hardware+software, 32-bit encoding is the only option available for older systems).

In other words, One Size Does NOT Fit All.

The question then becomes ... can Turtle WoW offer 32-bit and 64-bit encoding alternatives for the patch files or not? So far the answer has been NO, causing a loss of former Players (myself among them) who are locked out of the update due to compatibility issues.

Or to put it another way, just because I've got a sandwich doesn't mean that no one else in the world can be going hungry.

User avatar
Torta
Posts: 712

Re: World of Warcraft 1.15.0

Post by Torta » Tue Jan 12, 2021 5:31 pm

We do not have client sources and cannot provide Vanilla WoW.exe in x64. Windows 10 users can run our app just fine. I am using it myself without any problems. Please, get in touch with other Mac users on our Discord and ask how did they get their game up and running. I'm sure there's a workaround for your problem.

Vongeijer
Posts: 2

Re: World of Warcraft 1.15.0

Post by Vongeijer » Tue Jan 12, 2021 8:10 pm

I can try to do a guide as I manage to play the expansion on my mac with PlayonMac. I will do fresh install tomorrow and document it step by step.

Roxanneflowers
Posts: 222

Re: World of Warcraft 1.15.0

Post by Roxanneflowers » Wed Jan 13, 2021 1:18 am

Vongeijer wrote:
Tue Jan 12, 2021 8:10 pm
I can try to do a guide as I manage to play the expansion on my mac with PlayonMac. I will do fresh install tomorrow and document it step by step.
Include your OSX version in your details, it could be relevant.

User avatar
Rudyraccoon
Posts: 2
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: World of Warcraft 1.15.0

Post by Rudyraccoon » Wed Jan 13, 2021 11:37 am

Oleglo wrote:
Wed Jan 06, 2021 11:27 pm
So far so good. Very impressive even for a small team imo.

Bugs/Inconsistencies I've encountered:
- Camera being teleported to a random location and then crash.
- Not being able to learn guns as high elf warrior.
- Ally's warrior quest for defensive stance forces you into "At War" relationship with Stormwind for kicking the drunkard's butt, took me a while to realize that and turn it off to be able to turn in quest.
- For high elf quest requiring to free the captives from dwarves, opening cage doesn't complete the objective for all party members, only for the one who opens it, forcing all the other to wait for the cage to close back up.

Things I've heard:
- High elves zone is well balanced apart from last quest that involves freeing the captives from dwarves.
- Sprit healer ressurection is glitched?


Overall, I'm pretty damn impressed, THANK YOU for your awesome work!
Can't even learn guns as a High Elf Hunter. sad_turtle

Post Reply